If you dare not even ask, write or try, you will get nothing

Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly. John F. Kennedy

I salute you and admire you Mr Castro. You became a great leader because of that kind of courage. Just read this letter –
A letter written by the 14-year-old Castro to U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt, expressing admiration and asking for a $10 bill. In the letter Castro claims to be “twelve years old” and writes, “If you like, give me a t…en dollar bill green American, because never, I have not seen a ten dollar bill,” signing the letter, “Thank you very much. Good by [sic]. [But I like you more because you dare to write although your English was not perfect.]

Your friend,

Fidel Castro.”  (Source Wikipedia)

If U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt never replied it is his fault. If he even made an arrangement that all the letters addressed to him were to be replied even by a junior clerk, who knows… Castro would have an attachment, admiration and love for US presidents and USA.

 have a feeling that the above letter was published to run him down. But I think it is not a shame or crime but it shows the COURAGE of Castro.

Samantha Reed Smith (June 29, 1972 – August 25, 1985) was an American schoolgirl and child actress from Manchester, Maine, who became famous in the Cold War-era United States and Soviet Union. In 1982, Smith wrote a letter to the newly appo…inted Soviet Communist Party General Secretary Yuri Andropov, and received a personal reply which included a personal invitation to visit the Soviet Union, which she accepted. Smith attracted extensive media attention in both countries as a “Goodwill Ambassador”, and became known as “America’s Youngest Ambassador” .
If look at the above two children writing to the American President and Soviet leader, we can see that even the Communist leader is better than US President in PR.
Let’s read her wonderful letter_
Dear Mr. Andropov,
My name is Samantha Smith. I am ten years old. Congratulations on your new job. I have been worrying about Russia and the United States getting into a nuclear war. Are you going to vote to …have a war or not? If you aren’t please tell me how you are going to help to not have a war. This question you do not have to answer, but I would like to know why you want to conquer the world or at least our country. God made the world for us to live together in peace and not to fight.
Sincerely,
Samantha Smith
Dear Samantha,
I received your letter, which is like many others that have reached me recently from your country and from other countries around the world.
It seems to me – I can tell by your letter – that you are a courageous and honest gi…rl, resembling Becky, the friend of Tom Sawyer in the famous book of your compatriot Mark Twain. This book is well known and loved in our country by all boys and girls.
You write that you are anxious about whether there will be a nuclear war between our two countries. And you ask are we doing anything so that war will not break out.
Your question is the most important of those that every thinking man can pose. I will reply to you seriously and honestly.
Yes, Samantha, we in the Soviet Union are trying to do everything so that there will not be war on Earth. This is what every Soviet man wants. This is what the great founder of our state, Vladimir Lenin, taught us.
Soviet people well know what a terrible thing war is. Forty-two years ago, Nazi Germany, which strove for supremacy over the whole world, attacked our country, burned and destroyed many thousands of our towns and villages, killed millions of Soviet men, women and children.
In that war, which ended with our victory, we were in alliance with the United States: together we fought for the liberation of many people from the Nazi invaders. I hope that you know about this from your history lessons in school. And today we want very much to live in peace, to trade and cooperate with all our neighbors on this earth—with those far away and those near by. And certainly with such a great country as the United States of America.
In America and in our country there are nuclear weapons—terrible weapons that can kill millions of people in an instant. But we do not want them to be ever used. That’s precisely why the Soviet Union solemnly declared throughout the entire world that never—never—will it use nuclear weapons first against any country. In general we propose to discontinue further production of them and to proceed to the abolition of all the stockpiles on Earth.
It seems to me that this is a sufficient answer to your second question: ‘Why do you want to wage war against the whole world or at least the United States?’ We want nothing of the kind. No one in our country– neither workers, peasants, writers nor doctors, neither grown-ups nor children, nor members of the government–want either a big or ‘little’ war.
We want peace—there is something that we are occupied with: growing wheat, building and inventing, writing books and flying into space. We want peace for ourselves and for all peoples of the planet. For our children and for you, Samantha.
I invite you, if your parents will let you, to come to our country, the best time being this summer. You will find out about our country, meet with your contemporaries, visit an international children’s camp – ‘Artek’ – on the sea. And see for yourself: in the Soviet Union, everyone is for peace and friendship among peoples.
Thank you for your letter. I wish you all the best in your young life.
Y. Andropov
Bravo Soviet Leaders. Here is her stamp.
Last 30 yrs ago, I wrote a letter from Mandalay to Former Malaysian PM Tunku Abdul Rahman. Of course about 2-3 yrs after the Samantha Smith’s story. I was surprized to get the reply letter from his organization’s DG, Dato’ Ahmad Noordin. That PERKIM and later RISEAP DG later recognized the incidence and God willing, he offered me a job in Malaysia.
And 25 yrs ago, we just arrived Malaysia. I sent an Eid Card to the PM Datuk Sri Dr M.. I was rewarded with the TWO Hari Raya cards. One from PM and another from DPM. I am sure those two great leaders were very busy and could not attend or …ready the few hundred thousands of those greeting cards. BUT I AM HAPPY TO REALIZED THAT both of them showed that they care. May be the partime temporary staff sent back all the cards. Although I never sent the card to DPM, his PR was very good, any way, he tried to find out who sent cards to PM and he arranged that one of his staff send the cards to PM admirers. Bravo, no wonder a lot of citizens loved him.
I hope TDM would not get offended. As the foreigners, we love respect and try to build bridges of friendship with ALL the leaders of Malaysia.
I even sent an email to the very powerful VIP SIL who could not get the love and support of the majourity citizens YET. I even wrote that I sent 3 letters, one Eid card and one get well soon card when he fell down from the horse. All of the…m had gone through the black hole. I even try to teach him (actually he is million of times smarter than me) about how DSAI got the good PR by sending Hari Raya cards to me who even never send to him in the first place. I believe that one of his office staff got the letter. I know he never like me because I am posting articles against his FIL.
JUDGE NOT THOSE WHO TRY & FAIL.
JUDGE THOSE WHO FAIL TO TRY.
FEAR NOT THY LIFE SHOULD COME TO AN END, BUT RATHER
FEAR THAT IT SHALL NEVER HAVE A BEGINNING.
…WE’D NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKES OVER & OVER AGAIN
WITHOUT PROFITING FROM THE LESSONS THAT THEY MIGHT TEACH US.
IF IT WERE NOT TRUE, WE’D OBSERVE MORE CLOSELY THE MISTAKES
WHICH OTHER PEOPLE MAKE & PROFIT FROM THEM.
THE ONLY MAN WHO MAKES NO MISTAKES IS THE MAN
WHO NEVER DOES ANYTHING. And that is the BIGGEST MISTAKE ever possible in the world.See More
TQ Kay for reading this boring long posting with almost never ending comments. I wish to encourage my children, friends and others to DARE TO WRITE to the leaders. Most of them are shy, looking down on their selves. Castro’s letter end with… “BY” , wrongly spelt, many looked down on him BUT I LIKE and admire him. My postings are also full of mistakes but I am not competing the English essays. Just want to “SHARE” my ideas, thoughts and experiences etc. At the end of that letter to Tunku Abd Rahman, I wrote a paragraph in Malay. I was not shy that although a dr, I wrote the letter like a Kg student. I wrote above that Malay paragraph that there was no one who could teach me Malay. I learned those from the cover of biscuit tins, Milo bottles that were imported fro Malaysia. I tried to decuphered from the English/ Malay labels. BUT that lousy Malay paragraph pulled the heart of the greatmen, former PM and his DG. When I wrote another ‘farewell’ letter to that DG, he search my place and told me NOT TO GO BACK BURMA as he had decided to offer me a job. (I know that all these are impossible without God’s approval. But we must dare to try. See Kay’s husband came to Singapore and now in Australia. May be two of you are better than me as I am stuck here.See More

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

